

# CIRI Award for Excellence in Investor Relations

## CIRI Award for Excellence in Investor Relations - Criteria

The award for Excellence in Investor Relations is given by CIRI to honour individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the investor relations profession and/or to CIRI.

### **Selection Committee**

Past recipients of the Award are invited to participate on the Selection Committee and, where possible, the past recipient will chair the meeting. Members of the committee who are no longer active in the field or with CIRI should consider whether they have the necessary awareness of the nominee's contribution to participate on the Committee.

#### Nominees

CIRI National puts out a Call for Nominations to its members each year. The Committee will consider nominees from the current and prior year along with any others who should be considered for the Award.

The Selection Committee will be convened in the weeks prior to the CIRI National Conference

## **Considerations:**

- The award should not automatically go to the board chair in particular during their time on the board
- The award of excellence is intended to recognize a longer history of leadership in IR and/or to CIRI
- The individual should be an active CIRI member as well as a well-regarded practitioner or consultant.

## Role of Chair

- Chair the meeting and facilitate the selection of the Award recipient.
- Contact the award recipient to communicate their selection.
- Draft and send a letter of congratulations to the Award recipient.
- Present the award at the CIRI conference, if possible.
- Ensure that the committee and the recipient maintain confidentiality until the presentation is made at the Conference.

## **Past Award Recipients:**

Arden Haynes (1989)
Frances Carmichael (1990)
Isabel Mulligan (1991)
Richard Wertheim (1992)
Lorne French (1993)
Gary Lloyd (1994)
Mary Brebner (1995)
Jo Mira Clodman (1996)
Tracy Lutz (1997)
David Mills (1998)

Bill Rowe (1999)
Ron Blunn (2000)
Peter McBride (2001)
Betty-Ann Heggie (2002)
Jane Watson (2003)
Wilma Jacobs (2004)
John Rogers (2005)
John Wheeler (2006)
Nancy Woo (2007)
Tom Merinsky (2008)

Angela Joyce (2009) Sharon Mathers (2010) Elaine Wyatt (2011) David Carey (2012) Colleen Vancha (2013) Katherine Vyse (2014)