2019 volume 29 issue 3

CIRI Honours the 2019 Award Recipients

The 2019 Awards Ceremony was held in June in Halifax, Nova Scotia, at the CIRI Annual Conference.

And the winners are...

Award for Excellence in Investor Relations

Meghan Brown was chosen as the 31st recipient of the Award for Excellence in Investor Relations. The Award is given by CIRI to honour individuals who have made a significant contribution to the investor relations profession and to the Institute.

Brown is highly regarded in the investor relations profession and has been a significant contributor to CIRI and the issuer community as Past Chair of the CIRI Board and the CIRI BC Chapter Executive. She has been instrumental in the creation of the CIRI Fellowship Program, chairing the Selection Committee since its formation; and the introduction of the retiree membership. Brown co-chaired the 2017 Annual Conference and openly shares her knowledge and expertise by speaking at numerous conferences and events. 

“Meghan is a valued and well-respected member of the IR community in Canada. She is passionate about the profession and committed to its success,” said Pat Marshall, retired Vice President, Communications & Investor Relations for Cineplex Inc. and recipient of the 2018 Award for Excellence. “Her support of CIRI and mentorship to others in the industry has made a tremendous impact.”

Brown is the Vice President of Investor Relations for Leagold Mining Corporation. She has 25 years of experience in communications and investor relations in the resource sector.

"It is an honour and a privilege to be recognized by my peers with this award," said Brown. "My sincere gratitude goes out to CIRI and its membership for many years of support and encouragement. CIRI has provided me with many mentors and numerous opportunities for both personal and professional growth. I am humbled to be in the company of the previous award winners."

“Meg’s commitment to CIRI and the IR community is unfaltering. Over her many years of involvement, she has selflessly given of her time and expertise to advance the practice of investor relations both regionally and nationally,” said Yvette Lokker, President and CEO, CIRI. “Her passion for investor relations and demonstrated leadership have earned her the respect and admiration of IROs across Canada.”

Meghan Brown (left) accepts the 2019 Award for Excellence in Investor Relations from Yvette Lokker (right).
The 2019 Award a bird taking flight.

Belle Mulligan Award for Leadership in Investor Relations

The Belle Mulligan Award for Leadership in Investor Relations is given by CIRI in honour of the late Belle Mulligan to recognize individuals who have shown singular leadership in one or more aspects of the practice of investor relations.

The Award’s 2019 recipient is Laurie Gaborit, Vice President of Investor Relations for Detour Gold Corporation. 

Gaborit faced a professional challenge starting in 2018, when Detour Gold became the target of shareholder activism. Throughout the very public proxy battle, Gaborit remained calm and professional. She was incredibly articulate and composed, responding to sell- and buy-side requests promptly. One analyst commented that “Laurie's demeanour and professionalism never changed during the proxy battle. She gave full disclosure and access to management while being very efficient and timely.”

“Shareholder activism is a reality for today’s issuers and IROs; however, very few are as public as Detour Gold’s. I commend Laurie for her steadiness throughout the entire process. She demonstrated exceptional leadership and composure through her interactions with management, the Board, analysts and shareholders,” said Lokker.

CIRI Recognizes Four Distinguished Investor Relations Professionals

The CIRI Fellowship Program, launched in 2015, recognizes leaders in the investor relations profession who, by their achievements, bring distinction to the profession and serve as role models for others. CIRI Fellows have made significant contributions to the advancement of the investor relations profession and to CIRI throughout their careers. Earning the designation of F.CIRI, the CIRI Fellow, is the highest honour for investor relations professionals in Canada.

The 2019 CIRI Fellows are:

(Left to right) Paul Carpino, CPIR, Vice President, Investor Relations, Rogers Communications Inc.; Chaya Cooperberg, Executive Vice President, Chief People & Communications Officer, AmTrust Financial Services, Inc.; Melanie Hennessey, Vice President, Corporate Communications, NOVAGOLD RESOURCES INC.; and Elaine Wyatt, former Principal, Wyatt Strategic Communications.

Congratulations to 20-Year Membership Pin Recipients:

Paul Carpino, CPIR                                     John Ripplinger   

Congratulations to 10-Year Membership Pin Recipients:

Mauk Breukels                                            Samantha Cheung
Todd Coakwell                                             Eleanor Fritz
Lynette Gould                                              Melanie Hennessey
Joanne Jobin                                                Helen Kelly
Heidi Kutcher                                               Liz Monger
Krista Muhr                                                  Kathleen Murphy
Deirdre Neary                                              Henri Perron, CPIR
Marissa Poratto                                            Ernie Stapleton


comments powered by Disqus